Skip to content

Errr, at least she’s clever

April 10, 2009

Yesterday evening Nana was wrestling with Abel, he was tickling her. She said, “stop stupid”. I calmly asked her what she said. She calmly replied “I told daddy how handsome he is”.

OMG, it took everything I had not to bust out laughing.

I asked her two more times, and warned her if she didn’t tell me the truth that she was going to time out. She wasn’t going to be in trouble for using an inappropriate word, but she was for lying.

Her next two answers? “I said I’m tired”, and “I said you’re pretty”

So, off to time out she went. While in time out, I told Abel, “maybe we should call the Easter Bunny, tell him that Nana is lying. I know he doesn’t like to hide eggs for kids that lie to their mommy and daddy” – she JUMPED up and immediately said, “I said stupid – I SAID IT! I’m so sorry!”.

So, she got out of time out and we talked about inappropriate words and while they are going to slip every once in a while, and that’s ok, it’s never ok to lie to us.

Seriously – how can I raise a kid when I think shit like this is funny?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudine permalink
    April 10, 2009 9:47 am

    I would have laughed too! Those are some clever comebacks there from her!

  2. April 11, 2009 7:05 am

    There are many, many times that I have to turn away and laugh!! How could you raise children without laughing? We would go insane!

  3. April 11, 2009 9:59 am

    TOO CUTE!! Oh… so darling but also somewhat unfortunate when they learn to reason with you and you’re not sure anymore who’s boss, lol.

  4. April 11, 2009 10:54 am

    Brilliant little lass. I’d of busted a gut over all that too.

  5. April 13, 2009 6:58 am

    I’d never have been able to keep a straight face. She’s adorable!

  6. May 4, 2009 11:24 am

    Helllooooooo

Leave a Reply

