Skip to content
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 12:44 pm

    Great questions, Jen. I’ve been asking myself some of the same ones and trying to get a better handle on what I’m teaching my son about body image, and hopefully also help him see women in different terms than what our media prescribes as beautiful. There seems to be a lot of us asking these questions, and we all seem to be aware of the messages our kids are getting sometimes in side our homes and from external forces, but then I wonder how many people out there just really don’t care and that’s why teenage eating disorders are on the rise, etc. Thanks for your great thoughts, and for taking time to post :o)

  2. April 6, 2009 1:48 pm

    Thanks so much for posting! I too rewrote my post several times. It is hard for the reasons you mentioned, all we want to do is be good parents but it seems the ‘game and rules’ are continuously changing. And each child is different. How do we know what is best? I guess that is why I love reading posts like you and others have posted … to gather more information and learn more to help my children!

  3. April 6, 2009 3:20 pm

    Great post! Thanks for joining us! It is so hard to always look in the mirror and think something good about ourselves. But, I think doing it most of the time is what is important. We all have an off day.

  4. Victoria permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:11 pm

    I have never really taken the time to read your blog, but now that I am on summer break…time is what I have. You have a knack for writing. On this post…I don’t know if any of us can do it “right”. I know I have a screwed up body image and have gone through all the ups and downs of “dieting”. I don’t even want to use that word in front of Isabella. I have to keep reminding myself that I am eating “healthy” and “exercising” to be a better, happier person. Never mind that the whole time I am praying that lbs. come off in the process. Inevitably our little girls go out into the world and hear all the what is “beautiful” messsages, and we have to hope that we have done enough to let them know that they are BEAUTIFUL just being them.

Leave a Reply

