Skip to content

More on Car Seats

April 3, 2009

This comes to the forefront of my mind every few months, and I feel it’s important to blog about – to educate. If you don’t feel like some car seat education, skip this.

Two points I want to make here. One, it’s SO important to rear face as long as you can. Pia is almost two, and still rear faces. In fact, the AAP now recommends rear facing until age two. Read the article here.

I’ve heard all the “reasons” for turning them around, none are good enough.

Now, my other point. Keeping them in a 5 point harness for as long as you can. Most experts recommend no sooner than age 6. I recently read reviews on Walmart.com about a booster, people were buying it for their two-three year olds. If you have the time to write an on-line review, don’t you have the time to research the safest options for your child?

I’d think so.

Please, please don’t put your small children in boosters, and please don’t move them forward facing until they absolutely must be, if you get a good seat (not even expensive, because expensive does not equal good in this case), that can be 35 pounds!.

I try my very best not to be a sanctimommy, but this is one topic I admit to judging people on. It’s wrong, I know that. But, if I can make one person reconsider their choices, it’s worth it.

Please read up on it, do your research, protect your child. Because there is no do-overs for this.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 12:51 pm

    Word.

    If nothing else, watching some of the crash testing videos for car seats should give you pause. There is a reason why adult seats have the headrest to catch our head when it whips back from the most front end collisions…after it has whipped forward.

  2. April 4, 2009 9:09 am

    I admit to being a little nuts about this one too. It’s just so EASY to do the right thing, yet people still make excuses.

  3. April 4, 2009 11:22 am

    I couldn’t agree MORE. This is so important, and so many parents lack the education to know that, for example, most three and four olds are simply too small to be in one of those booster seats that simply attaches with a regular seat belt. There aren’t a ton of 5-point-harness boosters on the market, unfortunately, and certainly they’re more expensive than the ones without a 5-point harness, but PLEASE, as you said, this is one of those areas we simply can’t ask for a do over. We found a seat with a 5-pt-harness that will work until Aaron is 65 pounds and since he’s currently 5-years-old and not even 40 pounds yet, I’m hoping to keep him in it until he’s 18…I mean 7 :o)

  4. April 5, 2009 7:48 am

    I would like to say I agree 100% and use car seats above and beyond the recommendations for all my children but as I like to look at all sides of things … what about for larger children. Rear facing until 2 is great but where shall their legs go? I agree 100% in 5 point harness, honestly everyone in the car should have one. But again finding seats for larger children can be difficult and then add living in a climate where you must wear bulky clothing … I am NOT saying that it is not 100% worth it but I do think there are more obstacles for some. Just a thought. I am so glad you posted because I do think that knowledge is MOST important for getting change!!

Leave a Reply

