Skip to content

So

December 16, 2008

I’ve been back and forth 100 times on posting this. Then I figured it was good for two reasons. Probably this will be nothing, then someone in the future will come across it and it will ease their mind. If on the off chance it does turn out badly, I’ll have support, right?

On Saturday I found a lump in my right breast.

Now, I’ve had this happen before, though not in years. I have large breasts, that tend towards cysts. Last time this happened, I had a mammogram, ultrasound then a needle biopsy. And it was just a cyst. I imagine (and hope) that’s what it is this time. But, the thought of having to go through all that again sucks. Last time, I was alone and it was completely awful. I had to wait several hours for the radiologist to read the films, then go through the ultrasound. I was able to freely cry/feel sorry for myself when I needed to.

I, obviously, don’t have that luxury right now. Please understand, I’m not shopping for gravestones or anything, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t concerned. It’s a whole new playing field now. I’ve got two babies that have to be my #1 priority. It’s hard going through this being a mother.

My appt is on Friday. Like I said, I’m sure it’s something small and silly, and I’m probably over reacting, but that’s how I roll.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 9:38 am

    {hugs} It’s amazing the new level of worry that being a parent brings. I hope Friday finds you with news of your good health.

  2. December 16, 2008 9:39 am

    You have my support. Big virtual HUGS.

  3. Jen permalink*
    December 16, 2008 10:21 am

    Thanks ladies. Means a lot.

  4. December 17, 2008 5:25 am

    Thinking of you today. Sending all the benign vibes I can possibly muster up.

  5. December 17, 2008 9:35 am

    Please add hugs from me as well. Thinking of you confidently and that this cyst is just an annoyance. Please let us know how you’re doing!

  6. December 28, 2008 2:00 pm

    Yikes! Sorry I’m catching this late. How was the appointment? I’m hoping all is well. I understand what you mean about how having children changes things. It’s like a few months ago when I was reasonably sure I wasn’t having a heart attack, but not positive. In the old days I would have been annoyed and possibly indifferent with the whole mess. The ‘what ifs’ hit me when I looked at my kids and that made me take it all much more seriously. And to think I once believed childbirth was the most painful part of having kids!

  7. January 3, 2009 10:37 pm

    Just read about you on Tricia’s blog. I will be thinking about you and hoping all comes out well. I just had a biopsy and it came back clear. Other than a sore, very bruised boob, I’m doing great. I hope the same for you.
    If you have time, please come over and visit my blog. I DID write about my experience from mammogram forward during the month of December. It helped me, I learned from my readers. Today I got an email from a reader saying she had decided to get her first mammogram in 5 years after reading about my experience.
    Best of wishes for you!

  8. January 11, 2009 10:19 pm

    Sending a hug to you, I am so behind on blogging that it is not even possible to ever catch up! It is amazing how things change when you have children. My thoughts are with you!

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Not Really A Circle, Is It? | Shout

Leave a Reply

