Skip to content

Parenting Beyond Belief

December 16, 2008

I attended Dale McGowan’s seminar this past weekend. I’m not at all a seminar type of person, but I really did enjoy myself. He’s funny, and smart and makes quite a bit of sense. If you’re not familiar with him, here is his blog. He has one book out and another due in February.

He raises some interesting questions, and has made me rethink my approach on religion and my girls. It can be hard raising kids in this world as a minority in your (lack of) faith. I won’t go into all the details and bore my Christian readers, but his point is basically educate. Educate them on all religions, reinforce their desire to be good people, lead by example. Good stuff.

One thing he suggested just for fun was this quiz.

My top 5:

1. Secular Humanism (100%)
2. Unitarian Universalism (92%)
3. Liberal Quakers (78%)
4. Nontheist (71%)
5. Theravada Buddhism (69%)

Good stuff. He’s worth a read, even if you’re not a fire breathing heathen like myself.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jordan permalink
    December 16, 2008 1:17 pm

    I think we got the exact same scores Jen! Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. December 16, 2008 1:22 pm

    I think I am a ‘fire breathing heathen’ BUT I would like my children to know a lot more than I regarding religion so I will check out the links. Thanks for sharing!

  3. December 17, 2008 8:50 am

    Great post! My birth mother’s only request for me was that my adoptive parents not foist any kind of religion on me when I was growing up. Consequently, they let me explore any religious direction I wanted to, which I’ll always be thankful for.

    I think kids should learn about other religions period, regardless of parent’s faith in one in particular. It’s just knowledge. 😀

  4. December 17, 2008 9:44 am

    I’m a heathen and I really want my son to learn about all sorts of different believes, customs, cultures and religions. Regardless of what he chooses for himself, he’ll be a better citizen and more empathetic person if he develops understanding. Thanks for the links, I’ll definitely check them out.

  5. CDIdaho permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:05 pm

    We got the same top five! Except 3 and 4 are switched. That was fun.
    -Singfourever

Leave a Reply

