Skip to content

Bunny vs. Toilet

December 12, 2008

We’ve been lucky enough that we’ve been parents for nearly 4 years without a single toilet incident.

Until today.

I’m in the kitchen, loading the dishwasher and I hear a huge scream/cry. I sigh, because nothing is ever as bad as it sounds with Nana, and head over there.

She’s in the bathroom, screaming something about her bunny, and it being lost.

Now, I had just heard the toilet flush, so I glanced over. Sure enough, it’s starting to fill.

Great.

I ask her where her bunny is.

“I dunno!” she sobs. “He’s gone and I WANT HIM!!”.

At this point, I’m irritated. Not so much that the bunny is plugging the toilet, but at her freakin dramatics. I mean, is she the one that has to stick her hand in there? Oh, did I mention she had gone #1 AND #2 before flushing? Right, so she’s crying because her bunny is gone, and I want to cry because I have to stick my hand in a bowl full of…that.

I ask her what happened. She claims she doesn’t know. I tell her to try again. Now, she blames it on Pia. Nice. Not only do I have a toilet full of that to reach my hand in, but a little liar on my hands. She doesn’t let Pia come anywhere near bunny, so I know that’s not the truth.

“Bunny had to pee mama! Then sister dropped bunny in the toilet”.

Right.

So, on go the gloves, eyes close and the hand is in the toilet.

Nothing.

It’s up there but good.

Now, this is the point that I’d call McHusband, as he’s a plumber. But, McHusband left his phone at home. He works out in the field, and I have no way of getting a hold of him.

Great, again, just freaking great.

So I shut the door and walk away. Nana is still all upset about bunny. I kinda want to shake her a bit, I’m the one that just had my head in a crap filled toilet. I refrain.

I want to try the plunger, but I just don’t know enough about toilets to know if this is a good idea or not. I don’t want to make it worse, which is just my luck today.

So, I have the bright idea to call a friend, who works with McHusband (he introduced us), and is also a plumber.

He laughs his ass off.

But, tells me to try the plunger. If that didn’t work, to leave it alone until McHusband comes home.

So, plunger it is.

I’m not at all skilled with this thing. It’s a completely disgusting contraption. Usually it gets stuck inside out and in trying to get it straightened out, I splash myself. Ew is right folks, plungers aren’t my friend.

But, magically it works this time.

Toilet is fixed and I fully admit that I rock my own socks with this.

Sadly, bunny is gone forever, to a graveyard of poo. But happily the toilet is fully functional and I did it all by myself. And I got her to confess.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 2:30 pm

    Ewww! And yay!! Yeah, I hate it when the plunger turns itself inside out, and you have to pull the edge of it against the rim of the toilet to get it to fwop – GAH! Splashed again. Ick.

Leave a Reply

