Skip to content

The love of a child

December 10, 2008

Is boundless.

An amazing gift, that I’ll never feel completely worthy of.

My children look at me with utter trust, love, and faith.

I’m forced to wonder if I deserve it.

Children come to this earth with no preconceived notions, no stereotypes, no guile. They love innocently and completely.  You rarely have to earn a child’s trust, it is given completely, instantly.

The fact that two small people are completely depending on me to keep them safe, to love them and to teach them brings me to my knees. I’m so grateful for the opportunity, for the way they love me, allowing me to see myself through their eyes. It’s the purest, sweetest, most perfect gift I’ve ever received, and I don’t thank them enough.

So thank you, my sweet baby girls. For letting me be your mama. For just being you. For giving me the reason to be who I’m meant to be. I love you both, beyond words and bigger than the sky. My love, my heart – it’s yours.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 4:02 pm

    You most certainly do deserve it.

  2. December 11, 2008 3:43 pm

    So beautiful. So true.

  3. December 11, 2008 8:50 pm

    Hey, new format. Looks good.

    Jen, this post is absolutely beautiful.

  4. December 12, 2008 5:49 am

    Beautiful post, gorgeous sentiment.

Leave a Reply

