Skip to content

RAK: Thursday

October 9, 2008

We’re doing something three fold this time.

One is Make a Difference Day (thanks Lisa!). That day is October 25th. The point of Make a Difference Day is to help others! What’s better than that? I want you to go to this site, and either register an event, or find one in your area to participate in!

Another event is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day, which is October 15th. As you know, my niece Keiran was still born, due to Trisomy 13. So, this is very special day for us. If you like, you can make a donation to the March of Dimes (if you’d like to do this in Keirans name, please post here or e-mail me and I’ll get you the link), spread the word about the fantastic organization of Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep, blog about this, reach out to your local bereavement agencies, to see how you can help.

And finally, October is National Down Syndrome Awareness Month. I encourage everyone to spread the word about Buddy Walk. It’s a way to promote acceptance and inclusion. If you can’t walk, try to donate.

I know that things are tight for so many, so please don’t feel obligated. Spreading the word about these very important things is enough! I know this is a lot! But I couldn’t pick just one – each are so important.

And I’m still looking for a family to adopt this holiday season. If you know of someone, please e-mail me so I can get started on the donation process!

Go forth and be kind!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 4:05 pm

    You are awesome, Jen. Seriously.

  2. October 10, 2008 11:38 am

    October is also domestic violence awareness month. Lots going on this month!!

Leave a Reply

