Skip to content

Our Weekend

October 8, 2008

Not a lot of meat in this post, just random stuff.

On Friday, we had dinner and were just hanging out. The girls were playing in Nana’s room. Pia came out to us, visibly choking. Her face was red and she wasn’t breathing. It felt like years until we got it out, and I was reaching for the phone to call 911. It was a piece of wood (we’re guessing from a wicker hamper). She threw up and there was a bit of blood with it, we’re guessing it scratched her throat. One of the scariest moments of my life. We kept an eye on her, but she seemed fine and happy, so we didn’t take her to the doctor.

Later, after bath, I set out the girls jammies. I couldn’t find the right top/bottom set for Nana, so I just threw two together, thinking it was no biggie. Mistake. She refused to wear them because they didn’t match! When I did manage to find a set that matched, I was told, “good job mama!!”. Little Diva!

Saturday, we met my mom, sister and nephew at the outlet mall to get some winter clothes for the girls. It was a lot of fun! McHusband threw out his back somehow, so the rest of the day was pretty much shot. He was in a lot of pain, poor guy.

Sunday we were supposed to spend the day at Sea World (we have season passes), but didn’t because of his back. We went out for breakfast, same place that Nana barfed in a while back. She didn’t barf this time, but she did knock over McHusbands very full drink. I swear we aren’t going to be allowed there anymore! Then we headed to the mall, to peek at Halloween costumes. They aren’t in our budget this week, but I wanted to see some different options. Nana went nuts over the princess dresses at the Disney Store, so I imagine I’ll lose the fight. Princesses are over done for Halloween! I want something cool, but she’s at the age where she can pick for herself. I have Pia for this year, to dress like I want. Then we came home and cleaned, and rested. It was a good weekend!

I have a RAK I’m working on, that will tie into Pregnancy and Infant Loss Day (Oct 15). I also have some political blogs I’m writing in my head. I’ve not been sleeping well, which is making me exhausted, which makes it hard to blog lately. I’ve also been sucking at visiting other blogs, I’ll make it up soon, promise!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 9:29 am

    Wow! choking can be so scary. I am glad Pia is okay.

    I lost the not matching battle years ago – darn kids!

    Hope McHusband’s back is better soon.

    Looking forward to all your posts!!!

    Have a magical day.

  2. October 8, 2008 10:13 am

    Man! I am terrified my kids will choke. Olivia got an apple peel stuck in her throat just this morning and I freaked. I’ve found in choking situations my pinky finger can grow 12 inches and pull out just about anything. Glad your sweetie is ok!!!

    Wanted to remind you Make a Difference Day is coming up…October 25th.

    http://www.usaweekend.com/diffday/

  3. Jessica permalink
    October 8, 2008 11:27 am

    Poor Pia, glad she is ok.

  4. October 9, 2008 9:13 am

    I’m glad Pia is OK, and that you didn’t have a heart attack. Choking has got to be one of my biggest parental fears.

    Looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

