Skip to content

So I think…

October 1, 2008

I’m going to have to go back on the anti-depressants.

I actually think I’ve got a form of PMDD. I’ve been examining my cycles and moods, and I’m great until I’m PMSing. Then, it’s my own special hell. I’m out of control, angry, weepy, moody, etc. All the bad stuffs. This only started after Pia, and it’s apparently more common in women who have suffered PPD.

Sooo, as much as I’d like to be off of them, I recognize that for 1.5 weeks out of every month, I’m a bitch. And, since it’s my job to make sure my kids don’t turn out to be bitches, and I like to parent by example, I’ve got to fix it.

I’m guessing this is part of my unhappiness/dissatisfaction lately, as I had a visitor this AM. It’s been in the back of my mind for a bit, but I hate to self diagnose and freak. The fact that mid-cycle I feel great, tells me it’s not necessarily depression, but more hormone related.

So, step one to being happier will be addressing this. After my hormone rage is under control, I can better focus on the rest of the steps to making me happy again. Since we officially have insurance again (today!), this is perfect timing!

Wish me luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 8:27 pm

    Really the very best of luck!!!!

  2. October 2, 2008 5:22 am

    Step one sounds well-thought out and very much like a mom who’s committed to being the best person she can be. I think that’s wonderful. Wishing you all the best.

  3. October 2, 2008 9:58 am

    Anti-depressants don’t help those kind of hormone imbalances do they? Hey at least you can go get it check out. Hope it’s something simple to diagnose and you can feel better. The doctor still doesn’t know what is/could be wrong with me, but I don’t feel like getting pricked by a needle again.

  4. Jen permalink*
    October 2, 2008 10:03 am

    Merissa, it’s one form of treatment, taking them before your cycle starts, then stopping mid cycle. I’m not even sure how effective it is. Another option is BCP’s and I’m not comfortable taking those. I guess we’ll see what the Dr says!

  5. October 3, 2008 1:44 pm

    Hey Jen,

    I clicked your link from the GDB on pg.org. I have PMDD, and it is really so disruptive. I tried taking Sarafem (Prozac) 2 weeks before my period, which is the treatment for PMDD, but it didn’t work for me. SSRIs in general don’t work for me. I’m taking Wellbutrin for my depression, but it doesn’t really help with PMDD.

    As far as I know, right now, there are only two other treatment options. One is to take an anti-anxiety drug (like Valium) on the really bad days; or take the Yaz BCP.

    I really hope you find a treatment that works for you! I feel like I’ve tried everything!

Leave a Reply

