Skip to content

Oh McCain……

September 25, 2008

You guys knew I could keep my mouth shut on this one!

I can’t believe that he decided to suspend his campaign! I’m pissed!

For me, this says several things:

McCain was losing face, so he had to do something. Last week he was all for putting a committee together to discuss it. NOW he feels he has to be involved? Right – country first or campaign first?

If his purpose was really to get everyone together, why did he announce it this way? It should have been done privately, like Obama was trying to do – but NO he had to turn it into a media circus. Nice move. Now people are all caught up in this BS instead of our economy.

He wants to move the debate to the VP debate time slot and postpone the VP debate. Hmm, I wonder why?

The world doesn’t stop because there is a crisis. We need someone who can juggle many balls at once. How can anyone think McCain is capable of that? I sure don’t.

He’s the first to admit that he’s weak in economics, so why does he need to go save the day? He’s not on the committee!?

People are saying he holds a seat in the Senate, and has an obligation – well why hasn’t he voted since April? And on the same token, doesn’t he have an obligation to his campaign?

If Palin wasn’t such a joke, she could have campaigned in his stead. If you haven’t seen the Couric interview, I recommend it.

Any smidge of respect I had for the man is gone.

I realize this is all moot now, as a deal as been reached. But I started this last night and didn’t get a chance to finish until now. Can’t wait until tomorrow!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2008 6:08 pm

    OMG… I couldn’t have said that better myself.. the whole republican side of this election are all shady! I can’t stand Palin’s lying, pathetic butt… she’s terrible.. and possibly the WORST choice for VP selection in history… what did he do, pull her name from a hat???? GOD… I can’t even stand the sound of her voice…. anyway… I totally agree with everything you said! I love your blog!

    Merr

  2. September 25, 2008 7:42 pm

    I want the candidates to debate tomorrow and I think it’s short-sighted to cancel, but I do think there’s value in McCain working to rally Republican support for the bill when the democrat-controlled Congress understandably refuses to pass anything without majority Republican support. I can’t quite figure out why McCain would think it appropriate to cancel the debate in order to do his work in D.C., although I disagree with your interpretation, there certainly is “politics” at work.

  3. Jen permalink*
    September 25, 2008 8:03 pm

    I don’t disagree with him going to Washington. I do think he went about it wrong. It made me lose respect for him. He didn’t get to DC until 12 today. He didn’t take part in any meeting, or help in any way. Just seems very false to me.

  4. September 25, 2008 10:28 pm

    I agree he went about it wrong. Making such a production out of suspending his campaign wasn’t necessary. Rearrange your schedule, get back to Washington, fly your plane to the debate and go from there. The campaigns need not shut down. Advisors and such can still keep some of the momentum going. I don’t get it. And I definitely don’t think the VP debate should be the sacrificial lamb.

  5. September 26, 2008 2:06 pm

    I think the general intent is admirable, but it’s politically convenient, which casts doubt on McCain’s intentions. Had this type of crisis occurred before the primaries, would he have suspended his campaign with Romney, Huckabee, et. al. still in the game?

    The debate needs to happen. There should be about 5 debates between now and Nov. 4. It’s the interviews and debates that will give the American people real glimpses into these men’s approach. The real shame is that there are no third and fourth candidates for us to listen to and choose from.

  6. September 26, 2008 3:31 pm

    The VP debate was canceled because Palin isn’t capable of forming coherent thoughts and McCain knows it.

Leave a Reply

