Skip to content

Blog Etiquette?

September 11, 2008

You just can’t shut me up today!

My friend, Jennifer, brought this up on a forum we post on. Her original question, led me to ask others (in my head).

Her original question was, is it rude to specifically ask people to comment on your blog, but never return the comment love?

While I think it’s in poor taste, I wouldn’t call it outright rude. That being said, I’m guilty of it. Between the review blog, my personal blog, my cloth diapering blog, raising my kids, cleaning my house and running my small business, it’s freaking hard. I do read as much as I can, but I’m not great about commenting. I love comments, so I’m making a real effort to improve this.

Which led me to my next question: What do you do when someone breaks up with you? Without telling you? You create real relationships with other bloggers, and converse with them through comments. You care about these people and what happens in their lives. The comment love goes back and forth happily for a while, then abruptly stops. It’s like when a boyfriend just stops calling. You wonder what you said wrong. You wonder why your relationship wasn’t strong enough that the person couldn’t approach you with the issue. You just wonder what happened! This happened to me fairly recently. I didn’t get spiteful and stop reading, or delete this person from my blogroll (I wanted to, for sure!). I still enjoy her, I just don’t comment anymore, and not to try to hurt her, but I’m afraid she just doesn’t want to hear what I have to say. It stung a little. I didn’t lose any sleep over it. But, if you decide to stop reading someone, should you let them know? Or is it not an important enough relationship?

And now to my final musing. As a blogger, do you have an obligation, when reporting things in the news, to make sure your information is factual? I ask because recently, I blogged about Sarah Palin’s education cuts, then found out I gave out the incorrect information, and blogged again to clear the air and report the truth. It felt wrong to me to spread lies, even though I don’t support that party. It’s still a lie. I know it’s easy to fall into the mis-information trap – it took me over an hour to dig out the truth about the so-called cuts. But in the end it’s worth it to me. I recently ran across the blog of an old (and now ex) friend of mine. She had tons of stuff up about the Obama Infanticide up. Incorrect information (more on that coming soon). This is something that was easy for me to verify – even though I went and read the bills in question myself. I would hate to think that someone took something incorrect from my blog and spread it as fact.  I do feel an obligation to blog about the truth. I know some responsibility lies with the reader – but it begins with me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2008 5:52 pm

    I had an edited post on Palin as well, Jen. I actually read about 10 articles and thought the facts were clear. I typically don’t blog much about politics and my opinions, but I cared about whether or not she cut funding to special needs children, as it’s a personal issue for my family…luckily, one of my readers posted me corrected information and I edited my post to clear things up. I agree with you and do my best not to add to the misinformation out there.

    As for the comment love, I just assume people get busy (as I do) or don’t have anything to say about some of my more mundane posts, LOL. I write more for myself and as a family journal, so it doesn’t bother me.

    How’s that for comment love?!

  2. September 11, 2008 9:36 pm

    I agree, being busy with your life is a valid reason to not be able to post comments. But it irritates me for someone to specifically ask for comments, but not want to leave them, I’m being picky, I know. So shoot me, lol!

    I admire that you clarified something you wrote about someone you probably aren’t that “in to”. I feel it is an obligation, I wish everyone felt that way.

    And finally I worry about online relationships too much sometimes too. But like irl, relationships are just complicated sometimes and try as we might, eventually someone gets their feelings hurt. Bummer!

  3. jordan permalink
    September 11, 2008 9:51 pm

    Ever since I started using google reader I have hardly commented on anyones blog. When I used to visit the actual blogs, I ALWAYS posted a comment. Maybe it is time to go back to doing things old school? 😀

  4. September 12, 2008 8:34 am

    I think comments are great BUT I will say that some days I read lots of blogs and do not comment — maybe because it has already all been said and it seems silly to repeat what everyone else has said or maybe because I don’t feel like what I have to say is worth much or maybe because I just do not have the time that day BUT I do try because I enjoy reading comments, even if they are all the same, disagree with me or whatever!

    As for factual information … I agree that if I am blogging I would want the information to be correct. But I guess as with all freedom of speech we as readers must be aware that not everyone has these same thoughts!

    Jen: thanks for tackling some tough subjects, it is brave of you and I have really enjoyed reading them.

  5. September 12, 2008 12:12 pm

    If you enjoy a blog, I think it is important to comment when possible to keep the blogger motivated and interested in sharing their thoughts with others. A few of my fellow bloggers have abandoned their blogs of late and I’m always sad when that happens.

    In terms of correcting wrong information, it is a must to me if the blogger wants to remain credible. I appreciated your follow-up. I wish the media was as concerned about truth.

Leave a Reply

