Skip to content

Where were you?

September 10, 2008

Seven years ago tomorrow? When you heard the news?

I’m a bit ashamed of myself, for only taking the time to think, to remember, when the anniversary comes around. When it all happened, I couldn’t imagine a time I wouldn’t (almost obsessively) think about it daily. I know that life happens, and things like this get lost in the shuffle. I just want to capture that feeling again – being so proud of my country for standing together as one. I guess since this is an election year, the divide is so much more pronounced. I wish that through all the mudslinging and name calling that we could remember we’re all Americans. And, though we have different ideas on how it’s done, we ultimately want what’s best for our country. If that doesn’t unite us, what will?

I was at work, and a co-worker came to me, naked fear on his face, to tell me that the twin towers had been bombed. Fear raced up my spine, my heart constricted and I started shaking. We all rushed to a co-workers desk, she had a small TV. We were rivted. Only later would we find out just what happened, how many people lost their lives, and the bravery of our service people, and those on Flight 93 and everyone else involved.

It changed my life, though I wasn’t touched directly.

So let’s all take a moment to remember, to pray (if that’s your thing) and to reflect. Those that lost their lives will never be forgotten.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 12:25 pm

    I was in an airplane in the sky. It was so scary. I was also 6 months pregnany. My mother thought for sure that I had died. I flew over NYC again a few days later and could see the smoke. Chilling. I hope that we really never forget!

  2. September 10, 2008 12:31 pm

    Funny my husband asked me this question last night out of the blue. He was at “A” school and couldn’t even call me for a week because everything was locked down. Myself, I was at work when my boss came down crying from her office. She had no clue what to do. She had just gotten a call from a complete stranger telling her that she had her grandchildren and that her daughter and SIL both in the Army had been pulled away abruptly for an emergency. The complete stranger was the neighbor that had just moved in, that they hadn’t had the chance to meet yet. She had a radio and set it up on the customer service desk. We kept changing the station until we found one dedicated to what was going on. I remember now thinking right before that, “where are all our customers” I now know where, at home stuck to the tv like we were to the radio. The next day that is all people would/could talk about as they came into shop.

  3. September 10, 2008 4:09 pm

    I was at home in my bedroom and my husband came in there and told me what happened. I had to go to work that morning at 10:30, but of course all I wanted to do was go home and be glued to the tv. I remember wishing they would quit showing the planes flying into the towers, but of course at the same time not being able to turn away.

  4. September 10, 2008 8:39 pm

    I was in a science class in college. I didn’t understand at first. I thought it was a horrible accident. I called mom as soon as I understood. None of us could concentrate on the class, we just kept asking why.

    The university closed early that day. Everyone was so freaked out.

  5. September 11, 2008 9:12 am

    My son was just a couple months old, so I was home with him and my daughter … my oldest daughter was at school. My husband called me (knowing I would be clueless because I NEVER watch TV or listen to the radio). I watched TV for a long time, I picked my daughter up at school and came home. I spoke with lots of family members. I was sad, I was scared and it was all a little unreal!

    I am no longer scared BUT still very sad for all the people who were effected and it is all still a little unreal!

  6. September 11, 2008 10:07 am

    I was in California at a corporate training event. All I wanted to do was get back to my loved ones. At the time I lived in Texas. I hopped in a rental car and drove straight from San Fransisco to Dallas. It was a long drive of reflection.

    My employer did something that forever spoiled my view of them. I actually left the firm a month later. The CEO came into the training early that afternoon and said those of us who wished to leave could do so, but that he really hoped we would get back to focusing on the training. That doing so would be an act of patriotism by not letting the terrorists stop us from being a productive nation. Whatever buddy. I get what he was trying to say, but I wasn’t in the mood to prove anything to the terrorists (who were all dead anyway) that day. I needed a moment to grieve for those lost and the undeniable change to my country’s sense of security.

  7. September 11, 2008 10:17 am

    I was working from home. A colleague emailed me and I immediately turned on the TV. It took time for my mind to actually absorb what was happening, and I sat and cried for days mesmerized by horror. My husband was out of the country and of course I was worried about him getting back.

    Do you remember how united our country seemed at the time? How you couldn’t even get your hands on a flag because they were sold out, everywhere. Remember all the flags on people’s cars, in front of their homes and even on our clothing. I had never felt such an overwhelming sense of national unity and patriotism as we came together to grieve. I wish we had been able to hold onto that unity and that sense of national pride.

  8. Jen permalink*
    September 11, 2008 10:51 am

    Thank you all for sharing your stories.

    Tricia, I agree, I’ve really been reflecting on how good it felt to be an American around that time. I wish we were so proud and patriotic more.

  9. Teneale permalink
    September 16, 2008 8:15 am

    I was taking a typing test in Dublin for a job. I had to try and concentrate on what I was doing for the interview, and didn’t find out until I left and saw it on the news for days with that same horrible plane footage.

Leave a Reply

