Skip to content

Cut the cord

September 6, 2008

I’ve always maintained that I’ll never be “that” mom – the one who never leaves her kids. With Nana, I was successful. McHusband and I left her with my parents often and still had a life outside of her.

With Pia, I did a total 180. Since she’s been born, we’ve been out 3 times without her (never overnight). My parents watched them once, my sister in law watched them another time and close family friends watched them the third time.

That’s it.

Is it any wonder why we’re a bit disconnected? We never have time alone. I mean, we do in the evenings, after bed time – but is that enough?

It’s not, for us.

So, earlier this week, we got an invitation to a birthday dinner. Adults only. Now, they said we could bring the kids, but it was a nice restaurant and the reservations were for 8 pm. Not ideal time, considering that is bedtime. Our close friends have a 16 year old daughter, who volunteered to babysit.

My initial reaction was to tell McHusband to go without me. No way was I leaving my baby with a “non-adult”. Never mind I’ve known this kid for 6 years, and know that she loves my kids, and my kids love her. She’s very responsible and smart and an all around good kid.

I still wasn’t ok with it.

I really struggled with myself. My gut told me everything would be fine. My heart screamed NO! She’s just a baby!! I had some friends give me advice. Everyone said to GO! That I needed it (I did) and they would be fine.

After much (MUCH) internal struggle, I made this into a do or die decision (because I’m nothing if not dramatic). If I didn’t leave her with the sitter for this one night, I’d never be able to cut that damn cord.

So, I did.

And, I had a blast!!! I got a bit tipsy at dinner, ate some amazing food, flirted with McHusband, and laughed with good friends. It felt pretty amazing. I got to do my hair, and dress snazzy. I got to feel good about myself and enjoy people that I love.

Just for fun:

012

I’m so, so glad I went! And, pretty proud of myself that I didn’t call one time! She had our numbers, and her mom and step-dad were with us.

We got home around 1, to find all three girls curled up in her bed. She was holding Pia’s hand in her sleep. It was a beautiful site, and my heart sighed (in the happy way). We picked our sleepy girls up and carted them home.

I did it. I cut the cord. I was Jen again for a night, and plan to repeat soon. Because you know what? I like just being me sometimes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 5:54 pm

    You are beautiful! It is hard to leave our babies. I know we should do it more often, but we are so used to spending so much time with them.

  2. September 6, 2008 8:50 pm

    “because I’m nothing if not dramatic”

    Truer words have never been typed! I am so glad that you went. 🙂 Love the pic

  3. September 7, 2008 8:13 am

    That is indeed a snazzy mama! Great picture. It is nice when you can cut the cord. I have a hard time with it myself. It definitely is something that gets easier each time though.

  4. September 7, 2008 10:32 am

    Yeah for you, looks like fun! This had me thinking about how long it has been since my husband and I have had a little time to ourselves! I too have not yet ‘cut the cord’ and should, maybe!

  5. Jessica permalink
    September 7, 2008 4:45 pm

    Good For YOU!!! You look great girl.

  6. September 7, 2008 6:56 pm

    You look beautiful and like you’re truly enjoying yourself. We too have not cut the chord and we have never had a babysitter. A few nights out when a relative is in town, but that’s it. Maybe four or five evenings in almost five years. I know I need to take the leap and to have some grown up time, but have yet to find the courage! Good for you!!

  7. September 8, 2008 7:15 pm

    Good for you! Babysitters are the best. I think it’s so important to a marriage to get out just the two of you.

Trackbacks

  1. Pssst. Can I Tell You a Secret : Shout

Leave a Reply

