Skip to content

No words

September 5, 2008

For this type of thing:

Full story here.

Interesting snippet:

He thought the message would be a loving way to remind teenagers that the Bible denounces homosexuality

Why?

Why is this ok? Accepted even?

I just don’t have the words to convey my anger, hurt and frustration over this.

I’ll be back later with more thoughts. Right now I’m just too angry.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 3:15 pm

    I read the article and then had to go watch the video. I’d already heard the song before and have had it stuck in my head for days on end. So after watching the video I thought it was done rather well, not to racy or to sexual, didn’t even show any kissing (male or female). At the end of the video she wakes up as if it were all a dream next to her boyfriend (bet they say something about that next).
    I’m with you to some degree. It doesn’t anger me but it does bring to mind the question what can and should not be said in a public forum like that. People are entitled to their opinions and are allowed to express them so long as they do not physical hurt another. I can’t stand the double edged sword that says it’s okay to say for example, “I support gays” but it is not okay to say “I don’t support gays”. Are we expected to except all change without argument? Of course there are people on both extremes that take things to far….but is this one of those times?

  2. Jen permalink*
    September 5, 2008 3:38 pm

    I see your point.

    But (and you knew this was coming)……I like to think we live in a world of tolerance. I don’t see saying “I don’t support gays” the same as, “you’re going to hell”. Is that the love and tolerance Jesus spoke of? It doesn’t sound like it.

    I’d love everyone to be able to embrace people, gay or not. I realize that’s never going to happen. But, shouldn’t we expect, as humans, some simple kindness? And not the threat of hell for not abiding by others beliefs?

    I’m not saying they have to take it down (though I would like that to happen), as it’s within their rights.

    It does make me sad though. Sad for the young boy/girl, struggling with their sexuality.

  3. September 5, 2008 3:57 pm

    Looks like they took it down a few days later, but they say not because people complained. I’m very tolerant. I may not always like what you are doing, but as long as it isn’t hurting me or anyone else I can suck it up. I don’t voice my opinion often and when I do I try to be as tactful and respectful as possible, there is where we are both alike. I’m surely not as passionate on as many issues as you, but I love seeing an opinion openly discussed and another’s opinion openly considered.
    I think that is what the pastor was getting at when he posted the sign using the pop song as reference. To him it says it’s okay to explore, saying its no big deal, when in the church’s eyes it is a big deal. What really caught my attention was that he said is church opens it doors to this community (looking for better word here) but still says they are going to hell. Church is suppose to be a place of acceptence and forgiveness, so how could one still be going to hell if by attending church and following Gods word (expect for this one detail) would one go to hell? It’s against the bible to murder, but yet if a person repents then they are forgiven and and go to heaven…isn’t this the same thing?

    This is why I don’t go to church.

  4. Jen permalink*
    September 5, 2008 4:00 pm

    I actually love when you post on my blog, because you make me think (and, I’m not ignoring you on the Palin/special ed stuff, I’m reading and researching more!), and you are very respectful. I can handle people not agreeing with me, or questioning me with some class (which you very much have).

    Anyway, I agree with you. It sounds like hypocrisy.

  5. September 5, 2008 4:13 pm

    Okay off topic, I’m having a happy moment here. It’s nice to find someone I can have a good conversation with.

  6. Jen permalink*
    September 5, 2008 4:31 pm

    Here too!

  7. September 5, 2008 7:24 pm

    I’m a dork. I’ve never heard of the song and had no clue the “I” on the sign was another female. I think he relied heavily on people even knowing what he meant. I read it as if guys were doomed to a life of Hell after kissing a girl. LOL. A clueless guy might have taken that as a suggestion to start kissing guys instead. Wouldn’t that have been something!

    As irritating as it is to see that kind of garbage, I am convinced that kind of stuff does more to make the person who crafted it look like a moron than it does to hurt the intended targets. I can tell you that church wouldn’t get a dime of my money ever.

Leave a Reply

