Skip to content

Political Frustrations!

September 4, 2008

I don’t like Palin. At all. Yet people call me sexist because I don’t like her. It’s like you have to support her because she’s a woman. Is that, in turn, sexist?? I’d never support someone because they have a vagina. I’d support them based on their stances and voting record. I’m being accused of being anti-women because of this.

I don’t like her politics. I don’t like her stance on abortion, gay marriage, her shady ethics and her lack of experience.

I don’t like that she introduced herself as a “hockey mom” yet apparently her status of a MOM is off limits. Why?? Didn’t she open herself up to that by defining herself AS A MOM?! She did this.

I don’t like that she accepted the nom with all that is going on in her family. It should be a private time, yet her poor daughter can’t sign on the internet or turn the TV on without seeing her very personal situation being debated/discussed, her “shot-gun” marriage, her waistline, etc.

I’m tired of people saying this wouldn’t be happening if it were a man or if she were a dem. Get real folks, it sure as shit would be happening. Stop playing the victim card. I’d feel the exact same way if Obama’s daughter was a pregnant teen. He shouldn’t be running if that was the case.

Personal situations should be kept out of it, but this is politics. You know this going into it. I can’t help that I’m human and her decisions as a parent (note, I didn’t say mom) effect my view of her. I want someone leading me to have similar family values. And that means not putting her daughter out there for the wolves RIGHT NOW.

And now, people are commenting on her hair and her outfit, and that’s OK? Because it’s from the repub side? Explain to me these double standards. If a dem were to comment on those things, it would be petty or small of them, or sexist!!

Why can she make jokes (think: Pitbull) about being a mom, campaign on being a mom, yet her motherhood type decisions can’t be touched?

Last night, I watched the speech. I like to think with an open mind, because I do like the thought of a woman in the White House. But, she took an oppertunity to show people what she was made of and ripped the other candidate. How about some class!? You’re a relative newbie and that’s the best you can do?

All I’ve heard from her supporters today is what a great mom she was, how cool her hair looked, and that’s she’s “tough”. And we’re basing votes on THAT?? No one is addressing her political stances. Because we just don’t know what they are! No one is taking issue with the LIE she told – Bridge to Nowhere anyone?

We’re not allowed to have a negative opinion of her, because she’s a woman/female. I call bullshit.

She cut funding for special needs children by 63%, until she had one, that is.

I don’t need a mom, I need a VP.  I’m not finding that on the Republican ticket.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 5:41 pm

    From what I found on Alaska’s Education website there is no individual special needs budget, so I’m not sure without cutting the entire education budget that 63% is even possible. Yes there was a decrease in the state budget for education from 2007-2008 from $896,541,577 to $854,145,621 but the 2007 budget was already set when she took office in December 2006. Historically The education budget got a 10% increase every year under the other governor. This to me seems a bit off. I know education is very important, but did it really need that big of a yearly increase? Looking at the education website, the budget is suppose to be formulated by first calculating in local and federal impact aid (not to be confused with federal aid) and then calculating the state aid. There is a base amount which is calculated first and then Special needs and intensive needs gets a percentage of this based on the individual schools number of students expected to need such aid. From 2008-2009 there is expected to be a 10,000,000 increase (about a 2% increase from 2008).

    I’m still researching her, her stances and her governmental changes so I am still not sure on where I stand. I like that she doesn’t believe that because the state has a surplus that they should be spending it like crazy, hence cutting the capital budget. With better budget control our economy would be much better. This was one of the reasons McCain chose her. I’m interested in learning more about each candidate and their running mates.

  2. September 4, 2008 5:47 pm

    Amen sister friend!

  3. September 5, 2008 8:24 am

    I.totally.agree. You couldn’t be more right. Seriously, you took the words right out of my mouth. Even though her lack of experience is frightening, and she apparently aerial wolf hunts (which I realize doesn’t necessarily make you a good or bad politician but just sickens me), and she could give a crap and a half about the environment, and I disagree with her stance on just about every social and fiscal policy out there, above all, I am most disgusted with her choice to allow her poor daughter to become media roadkill. And no, it doesn’t matter if it’s a man or woman whose kid is in that situation, as a PARENT, you signed on to protect your kid. That is not protection. I consider it exploitation — all that bruhaha got them exactly what they wanted… more attention.

    I’m going to stop there because I could go on for days about this. But, your entry really hit home and I felt I must say something. By the way… I’m a silent stalker, and even though I don’t have kids, I still love reading your blog. In fact, one of my best friends just recently found out she is pregnant and I directed her over to you. So, keep up the good work Miss Jen!!!

  4. September 7, 2008 4:14 pm

    How did I miss this post :o)

    In my humble opinion, it’s not sexist to point to Palin’s record. There’s a difference between not supporting her because of her politics, which you already know I don’t agree with, and nailing her for making different choices as a mom.

    Here’s what I mean in a nutshell: We can discuss her personal choices to a degree, and of course we can discuss the fact that she’s a mom, but a new chapter of the Mommy Wars has opened up and I’m rather cranky about it. I keep reading multiple “news” items and blogs, etc., that claim she’s a bad MOTHER because she’ll not be able to focus on her kids if she’s VP of the USA. Apparently while we were eating all the feminist philosophies about being able to make choices, still be a mom and still have a career…it was all BS?

    This is the singular issue that makes me nuts. For two generations we’ve said women have choices, but apparently not every woman.

    I know this is not the particular point you’re addressing, but I mentioned I’m cranky, right :o)

    Interestingly…

  5. Jen permalink*
    September 7, 2008 4:22 pm

    I agree Tricia. No one should make a bold statement that she’s a bad mother. It’s not right/fair/mature. I absolutely don’t think she’s a bad mom at all. I don’t agree with her decisions, but I don’t think that makes in the big picture.

  6. September 7, 2008 5:14 pm

    Jen, you should be at my house right now…there’s a political “discussion” of note going on regarding political ideology. My stepson and his girlfriend are holding their own with my husband. Great fun. Too bad you lived so far away :o) I had to open a bottle of wine.

Trackbacks

  1. Never let it be said « The Story of Us
  2. Blog Etiquette? « The Story of Us

Leave a Reply

