Skip to content

34

August 21, 2008

That is the number of times that Nana said “mama” on the very short trip home from dinner tonight (maybe 10 minutes total).And yes, I actually counted.

Is it any wonder I’m tired of hearing it?

The irony is I couldn’t WAIT until she started talking. Now, I long for silence.

It’s always a really odd exchange, full of nothingness.

Like:

“Mama! I’m just eating!”

“Mama, I’m playing with sister!”

“Mama, I’m drinking my juice”

I get a play by play of her every action. And, on the off chance I don’t hear her the first “mama”, it’s repeated over and over, each time louder and louder.

Just silence, please.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 11:54 pm

    It used to be that I couldn’t wait for my babies to walk and talk. Now I just want them to sit down and be quiet! Noah and Tessa do that, too, and Noah’s six already. When does it stop?

    I’m sorry you had a rough ride home. Maybe you can finally get some peace at bedtime?

  2. August 24, 2008 9:38 pm

    I don’t know if you’ve ever watched the show ‘Family Guy’ but there’s a classic moment when the mom is feigning sleep while Stewie the baby is trying to get her attention: “Ma. Ma. Ma. Hey, ma. Ma. Ma. Ma. Ma.” etc etc for a good, monotonous 30 seconds or so. Finally she shouts “WHat??!” and he replies “hi!” and runs off…he he, it was quite good.

Leave a Reply

