Skip to content

RAK: Thursday

August 7, 2008

Use your manners!

I want you to make a concentrated effort to say please, thank you and you’re welcome!

I find myself forgetting this simple kindness, so I’d wager others do as well.

I don’t just want you to say it, I want you to MEAN it. Say it with feeling. Lose the impersonal mumble of “thanks” and be sincere. Make eye contact and smile.

I’m still looking for ideas for our donation project!

Go forth and be kind!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2008 6:09 pm

    Aw, it is so very important to mean what you say, isn’t it. Reminds me of an old Russian friend of mine who would get so upset when Americans would ask him “how are you” and not listen when he answered. And he never just said “fine.” He gave an honest response. He would forever say “that person asks me how I am and yet I annoy him when I answer.” I always remember his words because they were often true for me.

    I’ll definitely pay attention to my pleases and thank yous today.

    As for your donation project, I love things to do with nursing homes. Those are individuals in need of love and attention. Many are alone and forgotten. Collecting magazines from family and neighbors once they are done with them is easy. You’d be amazed how big of a stack you can get in a short period of time. Residents who are still able to read love magazines. Nursing homes are also a great place to drop off extra flowers from weddings, holidays and such. Every time my husband and I have brought flowers to a random nursing home for their common area, residents just swarm around them. If you make a card out “to the residents” then they all feel like they’ve gotten flowers. Some haven’t had a gesture like that in years. You could also have any playgroups you are involved with do some art projects that could hang in common areas. Just some ideas.

  2. August 7, 2008 6:25 pm

    I love that you want us to do this. It won’t be hard for me. I try to make people feel good. Even strangers at restaurants and all.

    I left you something on my blog. =)

Leave a Reply

