Skip to content

What does a bad mother make?

July 30, 2008

I frequent a debate board and this is a current hot topic. I actually started the discussion in regards to Jon and Kate + 8 and all the blogs out there expressly to rip them to shreds. I don’t agree with it and it frankly makes me sad that people have nothing better to do with their time. Yes, they choose to put their life out there for judgment, but I don’t believe that gives people a license to be cruel.

So someone made a comment in the debate that Kate was a bad mother, because she never let her kids get dirty.

I had no idea that’s what constituted a bad mother. If that’s true, then I suppose I’m a bad mother. I hate messes. I’ve shared before that I worry that my anal retentive/OCD tendencies prevent me from being the best mother I can be, but I never thought that would make me a BAD mother. I don’t allow playdoh or markers inside. My kids don’t know that they are “missing out” on anything. Also, instead of cleaning up bits of playdoh, I have more time to just hang out with them. I hate food on their faces, toys laying around, messy hair, etc. Yes, I’ve got issues!

I don’t like any mom being referred to as “bad” unless it’s in regards to physical or emotional abuse. I don’t think it’s fair. I’m not saying I don’t judge other moms – because that would be a lie. I try not to, but I really I think it’s human nature. But, I’d never venture to call someone “bad” just because they don’t do things the way I do.

As an aside, I have no problem with the way they raise their kids. Kate can be a bit rude, but it works for them. Jon obviously doesn’t mind a bit. I love how organized they are, and how well behaved their kids are.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 7:31 pm

    I am so glad you brought this up, it’s something I’ve been playing around with but you beat me to it!
    I, for one, LOVE the show and I think they’re wonderful people AND parents. I love that they put it out there, and don’t give a flying fart about what people think. They fight and argue and get frustrated and it makes them seem real.
    I’m glad to know I’m not the only mother like that out there… it’s hard keeping the house picked up, but I manage because messes make me crazy.
    Thanks for the post!

  2. July 31, 2008 1:22 am

    Well, put me on the bad mommy list. I HATE dirt. I pick up toys the minute the girls stop playing with them. We go thru 3 or more outfits a day because if it gets a spot on it, I must remove it. I am always washing their faces and fixing their hair. It’s just what makes me comfortable. Personally, I like to be clean. So….I guess I will join the “bad” mommy list. I very much agree with you that bashing someone over something so miniscule is ridiculous. There are much worse issues out there in the parenting world. Alot of the time, people insist on doing that to make themselves feel better. Can’t help but feel sorry for them!

  3. July 31, 2008 11:46 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more that I don’t like any mom being referred to as “bad” unless it’s in regards to physical or emotional abuse. Why do people attack like that? And I’m with you, if a clean child and house constitutes some sort of lacking in the motherhood arena, I’m apparently HORRIBLE.

  4. July 31, 2008 12:02 pm

    I have never watched Jon and Kate +8 BUT I think that parents do their best with what they have and really (unless as has been noted their is abuse) then please don’t judge … my kids get messy and I am okay with that, and I have been know to scoop them out of mud pie making to run to the store to get something for dinner (I know some of your are cringing) but I know that it does not really mean anything about my parenting or someone else’s lack of parenting! Our society can be so judgmental!

  5. Jen permalink*
    July 31, 2008 1:08 pm

    Of course not Amy. I don’t care if other kids are messy! Just mine!

  6. Cyn permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:41 pm

    I am the total opposite of you. I wish that I were a bit cleaner sometimes, but I’m not. Kids are constantly dirty.

Leave a Reply

