Skip to content

You ever have?

July 15, 2008

A few days that just suck? Where little things go wrong – that in and of themselves aren’t so bad – but when added together really bring you down?

That’s where I am.

Yesterday, we had to take my car to get an oil change and a safety inspection (McHusband got a ticket and yesterday was the absolute last day to get it fixed without a huge fine). We took it to Jiffy Lube. We went together as a family. So we’re in the waiting room and they call us, McHusband has Pia on his lap, so I jump up to answer whatever question they have. One guy is taking my info and tells me they don’t have a 33. Okay, while initially I didn’t know what this was, it’s not hard to figure out as there are very few parts to an oil change. Before I could even speak, the douche-bag next to him tells HIM, “she doesn’t know what that means!”. Um, 1) Don’t ever speak ABOUT me, while I’m standing right there and B) Just because I have boobs and a vagina, does NOT make me a car idiot. In fact, I know more about cars than your average MAN. I looked right at him and I told that I did, in fact, know it was an oil filter. Thanks. He then comes back with, “sorry, women get it confused with an air filter”. Twatever dickhead – I can’t even respond because all I’d like to do would possibly get me arrested.

So, their solution was that I run up to Auto Zone and get “an OIL filter, not a AIR filter” (yes, he said that). Umm, why don’t you get off your ass and go get me one? Right, that’s what I thought. So I tell them to go ahead and do the Safety Inspection. He replies he just can’t pass it, because I need new windshield wipers, and why didn’t I pick some up while getting the OIL filter?

We get in the car to leave, only the car won’t start. Serious. My 2 year old car suddenly won’t start. So the mechanic is sure to say he didn’t do ANYTHING to the car. Of course not dude, of course not. He then states it must be the alternator. Seriously?? The car will turn over but won’t catch. It’s NOT the alternator – it wouldn’t even turn over as many times as we tried, because it wouldn’t be giving the battery any juice. It’s a fuel problem. We took the fuel tank top off, put back on and it was fine.

Yeah, we left. Won’t ever, ever go back there. Ever.

So we head to another place, and just get the inspection because by this time, we’re running out of time. They pass it no problem (damn car is 2 years old). I tell McHusband to get a detailed receipt, for court. He doesn’t. Whatever! So we run some of our errands, but didn’t finish. Got home and the rest of the night was pretty uneventful.

So today, Nana woke up early, and started the day poorly. She didn’t get enough sleep as she was up playing with STICKERS when she was supposed to be night-night.

Pia is super whiny – I swear if that kid could crawl back up my vagina and live in my uterus, she would. She has to be on me at all times. I was mid-shit this AM and she comes on in the restroom, pillow and baba in hand, to hang out with me.

McHusband calls, needs me to get a detailed receipt from the mechanic for the safety inspection – because apparently the court won’t take his word. NO SHIT SHERLOCK.

Then the bowl of cereal is spilled EVERYWHERE because Nana never pays attention to what she’s doing. For some reason, when she spills, she cries. I’ve never, ever gotten mad at her for spilling. Why the tears?? If anyone should be crying, it’s me because I have to pick up the damn mess.

Then we run out of juice. No biggie, I’m a freak and ALWAYS have an extra. Well I can’t open it. Just CAN’T – the stupid lid is on too tight. So water for her, which she hates and throws major fit over.

Then it’s grilled cheese for lunch. I haven’t made one for Nana in forever, and now she decides she doesn’t like them. Too bad, so sad. It’s bread and cheese kid, two of your favorites. Get over it. Another major fit.

I just feel like I’m dropping everything, that everything is a battle and just everything is going WRONG. I want to go back to bed and start over. Over the course of me writing this blog, she’s been in here 6 times, whining about SOMETHING. I wish kids came with a mute button. I really do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 8:04 pm

    Somedays are just like that! I have always thought a pause button would be helpful!

  2. July 16, 2008 1:19 am

    I agree with Amy, a pause button would be really helpful. Mute would also be nice.

    I hope tomorrow you wake up rested, the sun is shining, the car is fine, the juice opens, and Pia doesn’t actually decide to crawl back in. Hugs!

  3. July 16, 2008 3:06 pm

    Yep, you’re having Mommy-meltdown…I’ve seen it before, been there myself, in fact.

    Dr. Barb prescribes a large bottle of wine, as needed. LOL

    Seriously though, I have often wanted the mute button, a pause button, something…hell, I’ve looked at the roll of duct tape before and thought “What if…” before stopping myself. So I feel ya!

    I hope today is better.

    *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

