Skip to content

Finding Balance

June 15, 2008

It can be hard. I’m just starting a brand new business, and finding that balance between being a wife, mom, woman, friend, and now business owner has been a struggle.

I’ve been sinking so many hours into Sassy Style – trying to get it just the way I’ve pictured it, get samples up, get our name out there, advertise, and think of fun new products, it’s been draining me! The past few nights I’ve been up until midnight (at the earliest!) working, so that my work doesn’t interfere with family time. But, even staying up late to work, it still does. I’m tired. I’m more short tempered. I’m on edge about this. I’m probably driving my friends bonkers asking for their input – but this is soooo important to me. I don’t just want to be good at this, I want to be great.

So, what has to give? My life was pretty packed before, now it’s almost unmanageable. I’ve been skipping meals to try to make time for this, losing sleep, neglecting my friends, worrying and taking my laptop to bed! So what’s giving right now is ME. I know it won’t be like this forever, and once we get a solid customer base things will fall into a good routine. In the mean time I guess I’ll just be exhausted!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sara Rose Tutus permalink
    June 15, 2008 2:01 pm

    There are 2 things that I have done recently that have really helped.
    1. I have a separate list for each thing (Tutus, review blog, business, house, etc) that I am doing, and when an idea pops into my head about it then I just jot it down rather than having to take care of it at that moment.
    2. I am giving myself a set amount of time each night- Sara goes to sleep at 9, so I take from 9-11 to work on stuff. One day I will make tutus for an hour and work on advertisements and such for an hour. Another day I will work on my review blog for an hour and my other business for the other hour. I am doing my best to stop at 11 and go to sleep. Obviously some days it does not work, but I do think it is helping.

    And FWIW- I love that you are starting this business and I am more than happy to answer any question, so keep the emails coming please.

Leave a Reply

