Skip to content

5 things I hate about……

June 15, 2008

Being a mom. Because let’s be honest, it’s not all sunshine and roses.

1. No time alone. This is a big one for me. I’m a loner – I love my own company. Even when they are away, they are with you – in your heart. Hardly a moment goes by that you don’t think of them/wonder how they are/what they are doing. Once you’re a mother, you’re never truly alone again.

2. No more potty privacy. The other day, I found myself trying to conduct private business with two kids and a dog as an audience. Not so much fun.

3. Always having to share. I’m sooo selfish. Nothing is mine anymore – not so crazy about it *pout*.

4. The mess. This house is like a daycare – toys, clothes, shoes, everything, everywhere, always. I don’t know who can keep up with this.

5. The emotions. Don’t get me wrong, the positive emotions are worth more than words can say. But, there are negative emotions – like worry, guilt and doubt. Raising kids is such a huge job it’s natural to agonize over your decisions, worry constantly and let mommy-guilt reign. It’s a tough balancing act, because to let the negative emotions take over would be a big no-no.

If you’re honest with yourself, and can admit there are things about mommyhood that really blow, you’re that much better off. Once you’ve realized this, thought it out and accepted it, you can move on and be the best mommy you can be!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. list mama permalink
    June 15, 2008 3:22 am

    Motherhood is definitely not the dream I fantasized about all those years, true. It is so much harder and unglamorous (cleaning puke or poop out of the carpet) than I ever thought. Of course, I never imagined how much my heart would expand with each child.

    Jen
    http://www.ListPlanIt.com

  2. Kristen Andrews permalink
    June 15, 2008 9:06 pm

    jen you are so honest and why do we or at least I do, feel guilty about the things we don’t like about motherhood!

  3. jodifur permalink
    June 18, 2008 1:16 am

    Doing what I want, when I want. I miss that. Sometimes I want to go to the gym, or run into a store, without buckling the child in and out of the car seat and negotiating everything.

Leave a Reply

