Skip to content

On Vaxing

March 1, 2008

McHusband and I have chosen to delay/selectively vax our girls.

The vaxs we will not be getting:

Rotavirus
MMR
Chicken Pox
Flu Shot

Here’s some fun info from the CDC (with my comments below):

“Vaccines are held to the highest standard of safety. The United States currently has the safest, most effective vaccine supply in history. Years of testing are required by law before a vaccine can be licensed. Once in use, vaccines are continually monitored for safety and efficacy.” (http://www.cdc.gov/od/science/iso/basic/parents.htm)

Okay, so what the fuck happened here? http://www.militarytimes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1560983
Dud Vaccines? Nice. But wait, they are continually monitored for safety and efficacy??

“While some of the sickness or reactions that follow vaccination may be caused by the vaccine, many are unrelated events that occur by coincidence after vaccination.” (http://www.cdc.gov/od/science/iso/concerns/)

Not a huge believer in coincidence here. Are we supposed to just buy this shit because the title of the page is CDC? Sadly, so many do.

“However, a decision not to immunize a child also involves risk. It is a decision to put the child and others who come into contact with him or her at risk of contracting a disease that could be dangerous or deadly.”

Okay, I hear quite a bit that I’m an irresponsible citizen, that I’m relying on “herd immunity” to protect my kids. Frankly that’s a load of bullshit. If YOUR kid is immunized, he/she isn’t going to contract the disease from MY kid, because vaccines are sooo effective, right? What do you have to worry about? On the same topic, how many adults have received their boosters? Because without your booster, the vax you received as a child is all but worthless. So, you’re a public health threat too.

On Hep B:
This is baffling:
Hepatitis B vaccine prevents hepatitis B disease and its serious consequences like hepatocellular carcinoma (liver cancer). Therefore, this is the first anti-cancer vaccine.

About the bolded – I’m just speechless. That has to be one of the most inane statements ever made. Seriously.

Hep B is contracted through dirty needles and sex. Why in the WORLD would I vax my infant against that??? Because she’s going to be sleeping around? Not likely. We won’t be getting this vax until her teen years. I find it laughable that hours after birth, the government thinks my kid needs to be injected with this.

On Rotavirus Vax:
This is an absolute JOKE. It’s a “new” vax that now is NOT recommended because of reported side effects. I just have to refer again, to this statement: “Years of testing are required by law before a vaccine can be licensed.” I mean, in the YEARS of testing, no side effects, then it’s released to the public and something’s wrong? (http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/63074.php)

This part is especially funny: “If your child has stomach pain, vomiting and diarrhea, there is blood in the child’s stool or changes in bowel movements, these could be signs of intussusception and you should tell the doctor straight away.” Umm, the vax is given to 8 week olds – I supposed they will suddenly learn to speak and tell you their tummy hurts? Right.

Rotavirus is (usually) not deadly. Yes, I’ve heard it’s just awful to go through, but for me, the risks way outweigh the benefits.

On MMR:

This one, too, is soo weird to me. Who dies from the measles or the mumps? Seriously. I have NO idea why ANYONE would inject their kid with this crap – for something that is all but eradicated, and isn’t deadly. Especially in light of this: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/david-kirby/government-concedes-vacci_b_88323.html

Interesting read, right? Wonder why it’s not NATIONALLY known.

I’m no conspiracy theorist, but this REEKS. I’d go with measles over autism any day.

On Chicken Pox:

Again with the non-deadly disease. I’d rather expose my kid to chicken pox than vax against it.

On the Flu:

The flu vaccine protects against just a few strands of the flu. By the end of flu season, there are hundreds of mutated strands. So, no thanks on that very slight maybe.

I’m all for the right to chose, for a parent. I just honestly wonder how many vaxing moms have done the amount of research that I have. Does anyone know what a shot is actually made of? I do. And I don’t like it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dre the Texican permalink
    March 2, 2008 4:26 am

    We revisit this topic every once in a while. Now that I am seeing it on your blog and MDU, I think it’s time to think about it again. Thanks for the post! See you in MDU land. Dre

  2. Jamie permalink
    March 5, 2008 11:36 pm

    Ramen, sista, Ramen

  3. veganbaby permalink
    March 28, 2008 9:52 pm

    We are actually revisiting vaccines. I read The Vaccine Book and it put my mind at ease with the decisions we made as far as the vaccines and our schedule.

Leave a Reply

