Skip to content

Chatter of the young

November 11, 2007

Yesterday, we met my mom and sister at the outlet mall. It’s about a 30 minute drive – and it was filled with Arianna incessantly talking.

Mama, what color is the sky?
Mama, look – a BOAT!
Look at the pretty trees!
Mama look!
Mama, wheres the planes?
Mama, I go see gma, papa, mimi, t, patsa, kiki and my TOYS!
Mama, where’s gma?
Mama, we go bye-bye?

All the while, I’m wishing for silence.

Then I catch myself. How beautiful is her chatter? How refreshing. To see the world through her eyes. Isn’t that the best part of being a parent? I hear the unrestrained joy in her voice – all because of a boat. A boat. How beautiful the world is to her. Unmarked, fresh, exciting. Each and every “bye bye” a brand new experience.

I stop wishing for silence. Instead, I turn down the radio and relish my sweet, sweet girl. I feel her joy surround me. I, too get excited about the trees, clouds and boats. I connect with her in a way I haven’t in a long time. I shed the frustration of the past few weeks, the headache brewing, the tension. And, I just lose myself in her.

The very best place to be is with her. The best scent the curve of her neck. The best feeling is her chubby arms wrapped around my neck. The best sound “I love you mommy”.

She’s not perfect, but then neither am I. It’s nice to realize that and be at peace with it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jodi permalink
    November 14, 2007 6:41 pm

    I’m like that too, wishing for silence and then remembering we should relish this time. It’s hard though.

Leave a Reply

