Skip to content

Bitchy Mommy

November 8, 2007

I’m SO over the “terrible twos”

When I try to explain to people how hard she is to parent, I get the “well, she’s two”. Right, I know how old she is. But, can you honestly tell me that most two year olds get so upset about getting their hair washed that they throw up?

Probably not.

Being her mother is a struggle. Daily. Most days I don’t like it. I hate feeling that way, but that’s the honest truth. I am not enjoying her right now. Sometimes she makes me SO angry that it scares me. I wouldn’t hurt her (should go without saying), but it’s a scary feeling being that angry with a child.

I’m probably not a great mother. I struggle with that, but I do my best. I’m not a touchy feely kinda person – she is. She’s always hugging and kissing me. Most of the time I’m fine with it, I even enjoy it – but sometimes it’s too much. I need some space. I can’t take her living up my ass.

Then there is the issue of my bedroom. It’s MY sanctuary. My space. The only place in the house that’s not full of kid/baby stuff. She loves to lay in my bed. I get that – but it bothers me. I’ve started refusing her. She’s all but ruined my comforter with juice, cheese, etc stains. I like my comforter. I don’t like waking up and stepping on toys. I don’t like my personal things messed with. Maybe that makes me a bitch, but at least I’m an honest bitch. Is it really so wrong to want ONE place in my house to myself?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Momma Phoenix permalink
    November 8, 2007 3:34 pm

    No, it’s not. My mom NEVER allowed us in her room without her, and even THAT was rare. Everyone’s bedroom was a private place and we weren’t allowed to go in without knocking. (Yes, my mom knocked on my bedroom door when I was 4!)

    And I know how you feel. Sully is a Marchie. I swear, most days I wish we lived near family. I could drop him off and go somewhere. Anywhere. Far away, and have absolute silence. My guilty confession? Some times, when Sully is throwing a mother of a tantrum, I go upstairs and lock myself in our bedroom.

    Supposedly it ends though? Right?

  2. Annalisa permalink
    November 9, 2007 8:29 pm

    Oh Jen I posted on your other blog but just wanted to send hugs. You are not a bad mommy. Quite the opposite.

  3. Jodi permalink
    November 10, 2007 2:37 am

    My rule is no food except in the kitchen, it stops the food everywhere issue.

    And being a mom is hard, there s nothing wrong with admitting that.

    Hang in there girl.

  4. Jamie permalink
    November 11, 2007 2:43 pm

    SEE!!! I told you that you didn’t suck.

  5. Samantha permalink
    November 30, 2007 6:22 pm

    I often feel angry with my Marchie, too…I know exactly how you feel. Sometimes I wish I could stop feeling that way. And, just to let you know, my Marchie will throw up when he gets mad about something, too. You are not alone there.

Leave a Reply

