Skip to content

Breastfeeding thoughts

October 31, 2007

For some reason, I’m pretty passionate about this. And of course this blog isn’t meant to offend, just say what I’m feeling/thinking.

I didn’t breastfeed Arianna. I made all sorts of excuses, but bottom line was I was immature and uneducated (and selfish). I didn’t bother to find out the benefits of breastfeeding, and it felt “uncomfortable” to me.

Looking back, it’s all bullshit.

It makes me mad when people make excuses about not breastfeeding (without trying it).

To say that it isn’t natural is the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard. How could anything be MORE natural that than? If there was milk coming out of your elbow, would you give it to your child? Of course you would. But, because it comes out of your breast it’s not natural? Give me a break. Grow up. It’s a BOOB. Stop sexualizing it. It’s main purpose is to feed your children. The sexual pleasure you get out of them is purely a side benefit.

Then there’s the “My husband wants them to himself”. So, you’ll give your boobs for your man, but not your kid? Even though it’s the best thing for them?

And the “I want my body back”. Do you? Because now that you have a kid, it’s not going to happen. EVER. Your body, possessions, etc are now your childs.

I have the upmost respect for a womans choice to feed their kid the way they want to. But, be real. Say you don’t want to. Don’t make some of the above crap excuses. And, you really should give it a try. If you try, and don’t like it – at least you put forth some effort in giving your child the very best you could.

That’s it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    November 30, 2007 6:25 pm

    As someone who BF both their babies for over a year, I thank you for this blog.

Leave a Reply

