Skip to content

1st and 2nd

August 22, 2007

I’m absolutely amazed at the differences between my first and second child. Not just their differences, but the difference in how I do things.

1st – I changed her diaper like every 2 hours, on the changing table.
2nd – I change it when wet, never during the night and anywhere in the house, never the changing table.

1st – I formula fed.
2nd – I’m still breastfeeding.

1st – I dressed her everyday, even if we were just hanging out at home.
2nd – she’s in her jammies, unless we leave the house.

1st – She slept through the night at 8 weeks.
2nd – 3 months old, still eating every 3 hours.

1st – Fully vaccinated on time.
2nd – We are delaying her vaccs

1st – Had never heard of “baby-wearing”
2nd – I own a ring sling, mei tai, and pouch sling

1st – Obsessively gave her a bath, every night.
2nd – The first few weeks, she got a bath once a week, now it’s every other day.

1st – Took me a long, long time to bond.
2nd – Bonded instantly.

There are hundreds more. I’m just amazed at how different it is.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dena permalink
    August 24, 2007 6:01 pm

    Its amazing I bet.. I think it’s gonna be the same way with me with my 2nd… Things change, we’re more easy going the 2nd time around!

  2. Annalisa permalink
    August 31, 2007 5:11 pm

    I was so much more easy going with Emmy. I just didn’t have the time or energy to care about all the little details. Congrats on the 3 month mark too. It is not easy to breastfeed and it is a great accomplishment.

  3. Jennifer Nieves-Thomas permalink
    September 21, 2007 5:16 pm

    So true. Funny I delay vax both my kids and Goodness I’ve heard so much Shit for it.

Leave a Reply

