Skip to content

Big Sister

June 23, 2007

To my daughter,

When we first brought Pia home, I was so scared you would hate me. I was terrified of the hard adjustment you were going to have to make. I hated that you weren’t going to be getting the attention that you used to.

And then I saw you look at your little sister in wonder, and stroke her head. I knew then that it was going to be okay.

You’re such a great big sister, always wanting to touch her, hold her, help me with her. You really, genuniely love her. I love watching you with her. I can see how kind you are, how loving. I can almost see the woman that you’re going to be and it leaves me speechless. It brings me pride that we’ve done so well with you.

I know now that we’ve given you a great gift. We gave you a sister. Your life will be better because of this relationship, this bond.

I’m so proud of you, big sister. I love you beyond words, bigger than the sky. You humble me and bring me tears of joy.

Love,

Mommy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    June 27, 2007 10:51 pm

    You should write that down and keep it for her. Every so many months I write lettes to Mikey and Bre. Just a little keepsake for them.

  2. Annalisa permalink
    June 29, 2007 1:34 am

    That is so sweet. You have one special little girl there.

  3. Kattie permalink
    August 11, 2007 3:11 pm

    Ari is such a sweet girl. I love the letter!

Leave a Reply

