Skip to content

Update

January 22, 2007

I’ve been remiss in updating my blog. I’m blaming it on the fact that during pregnancy, your brain shrinks 6% and only returns to it’s normal size 6 months after delivery. I can’t seem to keep a thought line. This post will likely be a jumble of information.

The Bebe:
Is doing fantastic. I’m 22 weeks now and time has flown. We had our big ultrasound on Friday and all the bits and pieces are where they should be. My OB recorded parts of the ultrasound on a CD, so if you care to see bebe moving about:
http://s4.photobucket.com/albums/y110/Jenni889/?action=view&current=Picture003.flv
Not everyone will find this as fascinating as I do. I can’t seem to stop watching it! I’m still down 2 pounds below my pre-pregnancy weight, and the Dr. is fine with that – I was pretty fluffy prior to conception. Heart rate is 140 and strong and we were able to see a kick on the outside for the first time yesterday. Feeling this child inside of me has to be one of lifes great joys. We will hopefully get started on the nursery soon. We have all the junk (thanks girls!!) – just need to get our butts in gear. We also purchased the going home outfits. One pink and one blue. I’ll have to take some pictures to share. I never thought I’d enjoy waiting to find out the sex until birth. I’m so glad we decided to wait. Our C-Section will be scheduled about 10 days prior to my due date, so around May 18th. I’m not at all nervous about it – it can’t be worse than an emergency section after 22 hours of labor!!

My Pregnancy:
Has been incredibly different from my pregnancy with Poopy. I’m feeling 100 times better. I don’t know if it’s the additional rest, not being on my feet as much, my emotional state, my mind-set. Probably a combination of all of those things. I’m actually enjoying myself this time. I’m certainly not “glowing”, but I’m not the raging bitch on wheels that I was before. One thing I feel duty bound to share with all the other FTM’s considering having another: NO ONE CARES THAT YOU’RE PREGNANT THIS TIME. My first pregnancy, family and friends called daily to check on me, see how I was feeling. I got foot rubs, back rubs, flowers, etc. This time? Nada. It’s just not the same for anyone else (but me). I wish someone would have warned me.

Poopy:
Still as sassy as ever. Things she does astound me, and not always in a good way. Thursday night, we went out to dinner and to Old Navy to do some clothes shopping. In the middle of the store, she started saying EWWWW and pointing to my butt. Like I had let one rip – which I hadn’t. And, the kid isn’t quiet. If I gave a shit what people thought of me, I’d have been embarrassed. I swear she says a new word daily, though I’m usually the only person that can understand her. She is smart, sneaky, and can be one the of the sweetest kids on earth. She can now count to five, she just needs help with 1 and 3. She’s now become a total Mama’s girl. Won’t let me out of her sight – which is a big change as she’s always been a Daddy’s girl. Some days being with her is pure joy – some days I’m in tears when Abel gets home. She really knows how to break me down. Who knew that an almost 2 year old could hurt my feelings???? Oh the joys of motherhood.

So all in all things are good. People have asked if we’re going to have a baby shower. I don’t feel like I need one. We have most everything – unless it’s a boy and in that case, we’ll just need clothes. I think we’ll have a bbq after bebe comes to introduce him/her to the world. If people want to bring stuff, they can! Next Friday is Keiran’s 1 year birthday. It will be a hard day, filled with happy and sad emotions. We miss her, so much.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

