Skip to content

My thoughts on marriage

January 4, 2007

I recently read an article in a magazine for newlyweds that offended me and got me thinking.

The article was about maintaining the “mystery” in a marriage – they said that you shouldn’t fart, burp, pop pimples, tweeze, etc. in front of your husband.

Flashback to 1950…………..

Am I really supposed to get up and leave the room to fart? In my own home? Give me a break.

I don’t find my husband any less attractive because he had beans the day before and he can’t stop shitting himself. In fact, I’m juvinile enough to still find it funny.

After going through pregnancy, and the subsequent childbirth, there are no secrets like that anymore between us. You can’t pretend he didn’t see what he (and everyone else) saw. And there is nothing wrong with it.

To me, the “mystery” in our relationship, the miracle is how we feel about each other. How much we love each other, and how strong our marriage is.

I asked husband a few weeks ago if he felt we had a good marriage. He replied that we have an excellent relationship. Then, I asked the loaded why question. He told me because I make him talk about his feelings.

I thought about it quite a bit. I honestly believe that we have a fantastic relationship, for so many reasons. One being that we are friends. Genuine friends. We actually like each other. We laugh together, we joke, we are open with each other. We’re not perfect. We fight, but really not much.

If I’m having a “needy” day, I annouce it in the morning, so he can give me extra attention. If he’s grouchy, he tells me and I take Poopy away for a while, give him some time to get over it. So, the second reason I feel we have a great relationship is communication.

Marriage is sacred to me. Absolute. There is no divorce. I don’t believe in it. I thought long and hard, did a lot of soul searching before deciding that I was ready to take a huge step like that.

I love him. After 4 years the feeling has only gotten stronger. I miss him when he’s gone. I get butterflies when he looks at me. I love kissing him. I love touching him. I love the father that he is to our daughter. I love the way he treats my family. I love the way he smells. I love all that he is, for who he is. He makes me better. He is, the rest of me. I love being married to him and it makes me feel like the luckiest girl in the world.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 12, 2007 8:08 pm

    I know what you mean about the divorce thing. Before we got married, it was agreed that neither of us believed in divorce. There really isn’t anything a commited couple can’t work on.

    And the mystery thing? To be honest, DH and I don’t fart in front of each other. Not on purpose though, its sort of this long standing ‘who dares do it first’ thing, lol. Everything else though…

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 21, 2007 8:32 pm

    Oh Jennifer, great post! I feel the same way. My husband and I have a great relationship b/c we talk, aout everything, ad naseum.

    I haven’t seen you around BBC lately, are you around?

Leave a Reply

