Skip to content

Maternal Instincts?

December 4, 2006

I think that it’s assumed that if you’re a woman, you come equipped with amazing maternal instincts.

I am the living proof that this is not true.

I wasn’t “born” to be a mommy. I have to work at it, every day. I think all Mom’s work at it, but for me I think it’s different. I am not very maternal at all.

I started wondering where I was when God was passing out these precious instincts. I think I was in line for boobs and a fantastic wit. The wit helps, the boobs………not as much. Well, you could say they helped me “become” a mom **wink**.

I never gazed at my sleeping child, in wonder of her. I never marveled at the miracle that she is. I think she’s pretty cool, I love her………….but I don’t get the feeling that this is what I was put on this earth for. If that makes sense at all. Some women grow up wanting to be a Mom. I’m not one of them. It’s the hardest adjustment I’ve ever had to make, and I don’t think I’m there completely. No one said this was going to be easy, but no one warns you it’s so hard. I keep checking Poopy’s ass crack for her warning label. It’s not there!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom2CamandMattie permalink
    February 2, 2007 2:38 am

    That, my friend, is an awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

