Skip to content

Mommys New Body

August 22, 2006

During pregnancy, your body changes so much. It will never be what it was before. You have to go through so much to bring life into this world.

Before pregnancy, I had a decent body. Perky boobs, flat tummy, round ass. I was happy with myself, for the most part.

Pregnancy brought on stretch marks, saggy boobs, bigger feet. Birth gave me a scar. I now have a fat shelf. I have a pooch. I have extra skin.

I don’t like looking at myself in the mirror anymore. I don’t feel attractive anymore. My clothes don’t fit like they used to. I have to pour my boobs in my bra every morning, like coffee.

What I don’t understand is why I am so ashamed of myself. My body is the way that it is because I brought life into this world. I created something beautiful inside me. Why can’t I look in the mirror and feel sexy? These marks, sags, bumps are here because of my daughter. They are war wounds. They should be badges of honor – worn with pride. I did something amazing.

No part of that should be shameful.

I’m not saying that I should go out in a bikini and flaunt it – but I should be happy that I was given the honor of sacrificing my body for the miracle of life. I should let my husband whistle at me, naked without rolling my eyes. I should be proud of every single strech mark on my pooch.

Our post pregnancy bodies should be something that we are all proud of.

Can I stand to lose some weight? Sure. But I’m not going to be down on myself anymore. I’m not going to be ashamed.

The end result of this is my daughter. So, from now on, I’m going to try to love my body. Be proud of it. Be happy with who I am. Love my Mommy body.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

