Skip to content

The Stigma of a SAHM

August 14, 2006

I’m a bit ashamed to admit this, but I used to think that being a SAHM was EASY. You got to sit at home all day, watch Oprah, go shopping if you felt like it.

I was so wrong.

It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. You can’t call in sick. You can’t take a coffee break, you can’t “decompress” – ever. You don’t get time off.

There are lazy days that I get to watch Oprah – and that’s great. But, for the most part it’s the most demanding job I’ve ever had.

I struggle with the fact that I don’t bring any income in.

I feel underappreciated, taken for granted. You don’t get anyone telling you that you busted ass on a project and did great. You might get a mumble that the house looks nice. I feel like Abel can’t relate to what I do all day. I feel like people judge me because I don’t have a “real” job. Stay home with my kid for a week and tell me I don’t have a real job. I am shaping a human being, teaching her, loving her. I could be raising the first female president – what did YOU do today?

It’s frustrating and hard. It’s worth it. I just wish I didn’t feel the need to justify myself – or base my self-worth on compliments. That would make this all a lot easier.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    August 14, 2006 11:46 pm

    I wish that I could be a SAHM. Not in the cards unless we win the lottery. I seem to be the breadwinner.

    Having her just that week showed me how tough it could be. I handed her off to T when he got home several times and said, “I’ll be back later.” It is tough. Anyone that says otherwise is a big fat hairy liar.

  2. Laurie permalink
    August 22, 2006 9:24 pm

    This is my life right now too. I’m very frustrated with and NEVER get a break. Everyone tells me to get a job….I’m like, I already have one. I can’t stand it when my friends (that don’t have kids) call me at like 10am and say, oh did I wake you? I’m like, excuse me? I’m up at the crack of dawn. I guess they think it’s some eating bon bons, watching tv all day kind of thing….
    A mothers job is NEVER DONE!

Leave a Reply

