Skip to content

SAHM Loneliness

August 6, 2006

I’ve been in a funk lately. My good friend Maryann suggested it might be the transition to SAHM that is doing it to me.

I put a lot of thought into this and realized that she is exactly right.

I was fortunate enough to get to work with several of my good friends. Now, I hardly talk to them. One is great about keeping contact – I suck at it. I don’t interact with adults everyday. When I do, all I have to talk about is what Poopy’s shit looked like that day. The sad fact is, I’m lonely. I was surrounded by people to laugh with, eat lunch with, talk about inane things with every single day. I took it for granted (who doesn’t??). Now, I have a 16 month old to talk to. While her vocabulary is fantastic, she could care less about rising gas prices, bird flu, or the war. I talk to myself, but I tend to agree with everything I say, so there is no real chance for a debate or any mental stimulation.

I depend on Abel for most of my adult contact. I look forward to him coming home every single day. The weekends are the highlight of my whole week. I count the days. That’s an awful lot of pressure for him to deal with, and it’s really not fair.

Maryann told me that I should get out more. The problem with that is the 100+ degree temps right now, the fact that I’m lazy and the fact that 9 times out of 10 when I take Poopy in public, I get frustrated.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy being home with my daughter. I sincerely do.

I miss my friends.

I’m just lonely.

This too, shall pass.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

