Skip to content

Another One??????

July 28, 2006

After everything that I went through to bring my daughter into this world, you’d think that I’d be content with one right? Nope.

When I was still pregnant, my OB told Abel that he’d be real lucky if he could convince me to have another.

I swore up and down after I had her that I was done. Never again. Something in my genetic make-up took the edge off the memories of what I went through. I didn’t forget, but looking back it doesn’t seem so bad. Yes, it was hard but it was worth it. My Mom put it perfectly when she told me that it’s the only pain in the world that you actually get something out of. I got a beautiful, smart, healthy baby girl out of it. We make such pretty babies, it would be a tragedy not to make some more!

We are currently trying for #2. This is a whole new world to me. Since #1 was a surprise, I wasn’t familiar with all the crap (read: information) available on trying to make a baby. I thought you did the nasty, you got pregnant. Simple.

It’s not. There are scary terms like cervical mucus and basal temperatures, weird abbreviations like 2WW and DPO. I’m getting a real education here on my body and baby making. Part of me thinks that knowing all of this is taking the fun out of it. I don’t want to schedule my baby making. I don’t want to prop my hips up in the air on pillows to make those suckers swim. I don’t want to agonize over when I can test. I want our child to be created in love, not science. Plus, if in the heat of the moment, I’m concentrated on us being in the prime baby making position, am I really going to enjoy myself? Nope. And, if I’m not enjoying myself, what’s the point? Yes, I want a baby – but it shouldn’t be hard or clinical. It should be beautiful. So, in this case I’m thinking ignorance is bliss.

We ask Poopy if she wants to be a big sister and she shakes her head yes. We ask her if Mommy is pregnant, she shakes her head yes. She loves other children, especially babies. I hear a lot of women wonder if they can love a second child as much as their first. That’s not really a concern of mine. I have a lot of love to give. I know that there will be things about baby #2 that I love and things about Poopy that I love.

I do wonder how she will adjust to not being the center of everything. She’s quite the diva right now. It will be a hard adjustment for all and I’m already wondering what mistakes we’ll make. How are we going to make each child feel special? Are there enough hours in the day?

Probably not, but it will be a wild ride!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

