Skip to content

The Proposal

July 27, 2006

It was Mother’s Day, 2005. Our daughter was only 2 months old. Abel and I had talked about buying a ring, so that old ladies wouldn’t be mean to me anymore. I told him that an actual wedding wasn’t necessary. It did feel weird though, Poopy and him had the same name. I didn’t. I almost felt like an outcast.

We were at Sam’s Club the day before Mother’s Day. We stopped to look at the engagement rings, as we usually did. He told me that once we paid off our 401K loan, we would get a ring. I was so excited. The last thing I expected was what happened the next day.

Poopy woke up around 6:00. Abel got up with her, to let me sleep in. Around 6:30 he came in with her and woke me up. He handed me a present and said it was from her. I opened it. It was a beautiful necklace in her birthstone with two diamonds on the top. I LOVED it. It was the perfect Mother’s Day present. Abel then said he had one more present for me. He left the room to go get it. He was gone for a good 10 minutes. I had no idea what was taking him so long. He came back in the room with his hands behind his back. He brought out a card. He’s not a card guy, I’m a big card girl – so this was a surprise to say the least. I opened it and it said, “To My Loving Wife, on Mother’s Day”. He said, “Are you wondering why it says wife?”. I’ll be honest with you – in my mind I was thinking it probably said wife because he waited until the last minute and all the other cards were gone and society isn’t to the point where “baby mama” cards were OK. Instead of voicing that, I said, “yes”. He got down on one knee and pulled out a ring. I don’t even remember looking at it. He cried, I cried. It was the perfect moment. I was naked in bed, ENGAGED!! HORRAY! I told him that since he asked all formal, we were going to have to get married. He was perfectly fine with that.

13 months later we tied the knot in Las Vegas and the Luxor. It was a short, sweet wedding. Wouldn’t want it any other way. And it’s pretty cool that we all have the same last name!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    July 27, 2006 12:34 am

    There is a definte market for baby mama cards. I may have a new profession.

Leave a Reply

